Wards & Councillors

Council Elections

Councils are part of the democratic framework of Australia and the community gets the chance to elect its Council Members every four years. The next Council Elections will happen in November 2018.

Council Elections provide an opportunity to vote for candidates who will represent your community. You can also nominate to stand for election as a Council Member.

Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections and all voting is done by post. Enrolled voters receive a voting package through the mail and return their votes in a reply paid envelope.

The rules for elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999 - an act of the South Australian Parliament.

  • Enrolling to Vote

    The voters’ roll for council elections consists of two components – the House of Assembly (State) roll, and the council supplementary roll.

    If you are on the House of Assembly roll you will automatically receive a voting pack mailed to your registered address.

    If you have moved house or changed your name, you need to complete a new enrolment form, available at your local Post Office or online through the Electoral Commission SA website.
     
    If you are not enrolled on the House of Assembly roll you may be eligible to register on the council supplementary roll if:

    • You have been resident at your current address for one month and are not on the State Electoral Roll
    • You are a sole owner/occupier of rateable property
    • You are NOT an Australian Citizen but you have been a resident at your current address for one month
    • You are a landlord for rateable property
    • You are an organisation/business owner or occupier of rateable property
    • You are a group of owners or occupiers of rateable property
  • Key Dates
    2018 Councils Elections Timetable
    Roll Close 5pm, Friday 10 August 2018
    Nominations Open Tuesday 4 September 2018
    Nominations Close 12noon, Tuesday 18 September 2018
    Mail out of voting materials Monday 22 - Friday 26 October 2018
    Close of voting 5pm, Friday 9 November 2018
  • How the Elections Work

    All Local Government elections are conducted using the counting system known as proportional representation. In summary, a candidate is elected when a quota or predetermined proportion of the total number of formal ballot papers cast is obtained.

    To find out more about the elections and how the voting system works, visit the Electoral Commission SA's Council Election Fact Page and the SA Local Government Association 2018 Council Elections page.

Ward Map

Elected Members



 
Mayor

Lachlan Clyne
0427 132 494 mayor.clyne@unley.sa.gov.au


 
Fullarton Ward

Anthony Lapidge
0416 141 817
alapidge@unley.sa.gov.au

 

Peter Hughes
0439 837 335
phughes@unley.sa.gov.au

Clarence Park Ward

Jennie Boisvert
0416 818 768
jboisvert@unley.sa.gov.au

 

Don Palmer
0414 820 773
dpalmer@unley.sa.gov.au

Goodwood Ward


Luke Smolucha
0422 669 253
lsmolucha@unley.sa.gov.au
 


Bob Schnell
8293 5680
bschnell@unley.sa.gov.au
Parkside Ward


Mike Hudson
8357 7496
mhudson@unley.sa.gov.au
 
 

John Koumi
0409 692 034
jkoumi@unley.sa.gov.au

Unley Park Ward


Rob Sangster
0408 032 648
rsangster@unley.sa.gov.au
 


Michael Rabbitt
0415 714 567
mrabbitt@unley.sa.gov.au
Unley Ward


Michael Hewitson AM
8271 9731
mhewitson@unley.sa.gov.au
 
 


Rufus Salaman
8271 7126
rsalaman@unley.sa.gov.au