Learn about Council By-laws and what they mean for you.

Councils in South Australia can establish by-laws under the Local Government Act 1999. By-laws are local laws established by councils to deal with issues specific to the areas under the care and control of council. 

A review of the City of Unley's By-laws was undertaken in 2015. Following community consultation, the revised By-laws were endorsed by Council and became effective from 1 January 2016.

By-law 1 Permits and penalties

A by-law to regulate permits and penalties issued by the Council.

By-law 1 Permits and penalties(PDF, 101KB)

By-law 2 Roads

A by-law to regulate or prohibit certain activities on roads in the Council area.

By-law 2 Roads(PDF, 191KB)

By-law 3 Local government land

A by-law to regulate the access to and the use of local government land (other than roads) and certain public places.

By-law 3 Local government land(PDF, 484KB)

By-law 4 Moveable signs

A by-law to set standards for moveable signs on roads and to provide conditions for the placement of such signs.

By-law 4 Moveable signs(PDF, 285KB)

By-law 5 Dogs

A by-law to limit the number of dogs kept on premises and for the management and control of dogs in the Council area.

By-law 5 Dogs(PDF, 175KB)