Council elections


How the council elections work

Council Members are elected every four years, with elections due to be held in November 2022. Council elections give you the opportunity to vote for candidates who will represent your community. You can also nominate to become a Council Member.

Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections and all voting is done by post. Enrolled voters receive a voting package through the mail and return their votes in a reply paid envelope.

To find out more about council elections and how the voting system works, visit the SA Local Government Association Council Elections page.

The rules for elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999 - an act of the South Australian Parliament.

Key Dates

Event  Date
Roll Close 5pm, Friday 29 July 2022
Nomination Open Tuesday 23 August 2022
Nominations Close 12 noon, Tuesday 6 September 2022
Dispatch of ballot material to electors    Friday 14 October and Thursday 20 October 2022   
Close of voting (Polling Day) 5pm, Thursday 10 November 2022
Scrutiny and Count 9pm, Saturday 12 November 2022


Voter’s Roll

The voters’ roll for council elections consists of two components – the House of Assembly (State) roll, and the council supplementary roll.

If you are on the House of Assembly roll, you will automatically receive a voting pack mailed to your registered address.

If you have moved house or changed your name, you need to complete a new enrolment form, available at your local Post Office or update your details on the Electoral Commission SA (ECSA) website.

If you are unsure if you are enrolled,  check your enrolment status on the ECSA website.
Re-enrolments for the 2022 Council elections have closed.

Council supplementary roll

The voters’ roll for council elections consists of two components – the House of Assembly (State) roll, and the council supplementary roll.

Under the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999, there is a requirement to purge the council supplementary roll on 1 January of every election year. All landlords, business lessees and resident non-Australian citizens are removed from the council voters roll and must re-enrol to be able to vote.
Re-enrolments for the 2022 Council elections have closed.


If you are eligible to vote in your local council elections, you may also be eligible to stand for a position on council.

Nominations open Tuesday 23 August 2022 and close at 12noon Tuesday 6 September. 


The Electoral Commission of SA's (ECSA) candidate portal will be accessible before nominations open, however you will only be able to submit your nominations from Tuesday 23 August 2022.

Becoming an Elected Member presents the opportunity to influence local directions and create long-term, positive outcomes within your community and for fellow residents. The role of Elected Member is both rewarding and challenging. It requires commitment, responsibility and accountability.

Learn about the nomination process by visiting the LGA website.

Prospective candidates can learn more about becoming an Elected Member by attending a candidate session.

All sessions commence at 7pm. No bookings required. 

Monday 15 August
City of Prospect
128 Prospect Road, Prospect
Phone 8269 5355

Wednesday 17 August
City of Burnside Council Chamber
Civic Centre, 401 Greenhill Road, Tusmore
Phone 8366 4200

Thursday 18 August
City of Unley
Unley Council Chambers, 181 Unley Road, Unley
Phone 8372 5111

Monday 22 August
Town of Walkerville Walkerville Civic Centre
66 Walkerville Terrace, Gilberton
Phone 8342 7100


Your vote in a council election can make a huge difference. It's your opportunity to help make your community a better place to live. The voting period for council elections 2022 is from Friday 14 October to 5pm, Thursday 10 November.

Learn more about the voting process by visiting the LGA website.